Detroit Rock City

Trip: So who did your wardrobe? A band of preppy sailboat captains?

I love this movie it everything that fun should be…a lot of stupid stuff all in one night.  Lately this is how my life has been a long string of silly stuff in rapid succession all in one night.  It’s been fun and that is where the problem starts.  The amount of fun and the unpredictable nature of said fun is something that I have come to expect and enjoy about my everyday life.  I go out for a nice dinner end up at a seedy bar doing shots with a biker named “El Diablo” exchanging recipes for marinara sauce.  Maybe I go out for a night of seedy fun and end up having cocktails with a concert pianist.  Life is not meant to be predictable nor is it meant to be boring.  The group of friends that I have cultivated has always been reliable when it comes to fun.  They can make me laugh when I really want to cry or they can make me cry with laughter just because it’s Tuesday.

Jam: Hey, my mom had me over a barrel, alright? After what happened last night I had to let her *dress* me today!

Wine is always readily available.  When I order tea at a bar I will be summarily chastised for my faux pas.  Naturally, I give into peer pressure and order a martini shaken never stirred.  What’s my point with this aimless mussing?  I want exactly the same thing when I get to Rome. I do not want to start from scratch.  When I get off the plane it would be nice to walk back into my old life all be it in a new place.  My expectations are unrealistic, which is the reason for my aimless musings. How do you go from bedlam to crickets?

Hawk: All right, man. We’ll just double time it to your house, and grab the tickets before heading to the train station for the 3:45 to DETROIT… ROCK… CITY! GOD!

To give the impression that I swing from chandlers every single night would not be accurate.  Maybe every other night or let’s just says when I swing it’s enough to fill out a few nights.  It’s a balance issue. I tend to be an all or nothing kind of person.   Most people that I know would say that moving from one place to another is about reinvention.  My question is: “what if you like the person you are already?’  Is reinvention always necessary?  Why can’t you just want to take your act on the road?

Jam:  I JUST LOST MY VIRGINITY IN A CONFESSIONAL BOOTH! LORD… HAVE… MERCY! Now, for the last time… Mom… Give me back my FUCKING drumsticks…

I started this blog because someone suggested that I keep a journal of my thoughts as I transition to my new life in Italy.  I have made little effort to promote this blog primarily because I am still trying to sort out its primary purpose. Most at this point I think that I am enjoy the process of not knowing what I want to be when I grow up.  And, perhaps that is the real point that not every moment in life has to be defined.  The true enjoyment comes from not knowing what’s around the next corner.

Bartender: Save your money, stud-muffin. The lady at the end of the bar sends her love.
This entry was posted in Expat, Italy, Mexico, Travel, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment