First Sight

Virgil: I saw the horizon. It’s out there. And though I may not ever be able to touch it, it’s worth reaching for.

Today has been a day of “firsts”. For instance, for the first time since I arrived I don’t have to be anywhere particular today.  It is also the first time for cleaning my apartment.  Given that I only moved in one week ago today I’m actual happy to clean. In another week or so I will not be as happy.  For the first time I looked at Craig’s List Italia. I need a desk and paying retail will not due.  This is also the first time I don’t have a TV or access to satellite television.  For the first time I am listening to someone playing the accordion outside my bedroom window.  The music is like what my imagination would tell me Italy would be like if I didn’t already live here. This is the first day I have not studied grammar rules or British pronunciation.  It has been the first time that I have gone grocery shopping completely on my own in Rome.

In fact for the first time I couldn’t communicate with someone in my broken Italian so I typed what I wanted to say into my Google translator and showed it to the banker.  Not my finest moment but it got the job done. For the first time I told a family member that I love them but I am not getting involved in their conflict. Usually I try to play peace maker only to get blamed in the end.

Oddly enough this is the first time in a very long time that I am only responsible for myself.  Every now and again I look over my shoulder or up at the sky half expecting to see some sign that things aren’t not as real as they seem. I guess for me it’s hard to believe that I am completely on my own. It’s something I have said that I wanted for as long as I can remember. Now that it’s my every day I haven’t allowed myself to fully embrace it. Part of me thinks that if I start to enjoy myself too much then things will fall apart and that would be a fate worse than death.  Another part thinks that this is all too good to be true and the other shoe will drop.

Ultimately I think that I need to just let go and embrace the here and now.  After all tomorrow is not here yet.  It can take care of its self.

This entry was posted in Expat, Italy, Mexico, Travel, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment